Tasmania win toss, bowl first vs Qld

Tasmania have won the toss and elected to bowl in Monday’s domestic one-day cup match against Queensland in Townsville.

The Tigers are aiming to bounce back from an outright defeat to the Bulls in the Sheffield Shield over the weekend at the same venue, with Queensland batters Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne and Matthew Renshaw all making first-innings hundreds at Riverway Stadium.

Ben Manenti has been named in the Tigers’ XI and will make his debut for Tasmania while ex-Test quick Peter Siddle is included after being rested for the Shield match.

Ben McDermott has also been selected for the visitors, who won their only match of the competition so far against Western Australia in Perth last month.

Jake Doran has been overlooked for a non-COVID related medical issue.

The Bulls have named left-handed batter Sam Heazlett after he top-scored with 93 from 59 balls in the loss to South Australia while left-arm spinner Matthew Kuhnemann also plays after a career-best 10-wicket haul with the red ball in the Shield victory.

Play starts at 10.05am (1105 AEDT).

Tasmania: Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Mac Wright, Jordan Silk (capt), Charlie Wakim, Beau Webster, Tom Rogers, Tom Andrews, Ben Manenti, Riley Meredith, Peter Siddle.

Queensland: Sam Heazlett, Usman Khawaja (capt), Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Burns, Matthew Renshaw, Jimmy Peirson, Jack Wildermuth, James Bazley, Gurinder Sandhu, Connor Sully, Matt Kuhnemann.

The Fort News